Why we run.

This morning I saw this question asked: http://fitfor365.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/to-be-with-each-other/ – do you agree with Christopher McDougall’s quote:

The reason we race isn’t so much to beat each other but to be with each other.

While I think there is some truth to this, I do also have friends who maintain they run solely to be alone. Now, the question is, do these same people take part in races with the same frame of mind? I suppose it’s possible; after all, a race is a guide to how you are progressing as a runner in many respects.

For me, I started running solely on the basis of joining in with a local 5k, where I knew several other people taking part (I hadn’t run for years but I was reasonably fit from cycling). I suppose that puts me firmly in the category of  “to be with each other”. What happened next didn’t fit that pattern so much. I started running, alone. I worked towards another 5k later in the year and ran it solely to see how much I could improve. Admittedly, the atmosphere at the race was one of camaraderie, but that wasn’t the reason I was there.

A year later I joined a running club, and I love my solitary runs as much as the group runs, but I have to admit, the most enjoyable races are definitely the ones where I am with other club members, and as I race more, the other people you see time and time again.

This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why we run.

  1. While I run solely for “me” time, it does seem as if we share the same unhealthy love for this thing they call Running. Best of luck and congrats on a good blog site.

    • runninginnj says:

      Thanks for reading and for the positive feedback. “Me” time somehow now includes the running club – often I’m lost in my own thoughts during those runs too, but I also enjoy the company. The club has pushed me way beyond what I thought I could ever achieve as a runner.

Leave a Reply

