Running in the cold part 3

This morning our outdoor thermometer said it was 27 degrees, so a bit colder than my last post on running in the cold. This time, however, I have some new kit and wanted to get in a short run – I was fortunate enough to get hold of some Icebreaker Merino Wool clothing (disclaimer: I have no association with Icebreaker at all).

So, today I ran in just my Under Armour short sleeved compression shirt covered with this (picture taken from the Icebreaker website):

and then on the bottom half, these tights with shorts on top (so I had a pocket for the few bits and pieces I had with me):

(and Injinji socks, and a thin headsweats beanie).

Given it was that cold, and these things seem pretty thin, I wondered how these would hold up, but I knew that Merino was supposed to be good for just this sort of thing. Anyway, I was just right for the entire run – apart from my fingers feeling a little on the chilled side as I only wore my Under Armour liner gloves, and I think that’s probably the borderline temperature for those. I do have a pair of Icebreaker liners, and I had word those at the 10 miler and they were perfect there – probably at least in part because they are water resistant, so next time it rains I’ll be heading out in Merino wool for a run.

I’m definitely a fan of this range of clothing now, and wondering when I can get some more – they seemed expensive when I was first looking at them (I didn’t personally pay for the items I’ve already got so I didn’t have to deal with it then), but having worn these today in these temperatures I don’t believe they are really necessarily that much more expensive than any other sportswear specifically designed for cold weather.

On a side note, I also have a pair of their boxer shorts, and those things are the most comfortable things I have ever worn in my life, but at $40 a pair I can’t justify replacing my entire underwear collection.

I did just look on Amazon, and it appears, for those items that Amazon has available, they are able to give a 30% discount which seems like a reasonable deal. For other stuff, it seems that if you sign up for their email list, they send you a 20% off coupon.

Anyone have any other favorites for running in the cold?

This entry was posted in fitness, New Jersey, NJ, running, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running in the cold part 3

  1. Pingback: Running in the cold part 2 | Running in NJ

  2. paigesato says:

    wool rules! I love my smartwool socks and jacket. and i’ve noticed Nike’s recently introduced a wool-blend collection.

Leave a Reply

