Busy day – Miles for Music

Today was Miles for Music, and while there’s a lot to write about the event, I wanted to just post this one thing today (the rest to come).

Rebecca, my 5 year old, ran the 1 miler at this event, and I was lucky enough to get a friend to run with her (I was busy being bike lead for the 5k unfortunately). When I returned from the 5k I discovered that not only did she manage to run the whole mile without stopping, and she had to weave in and out of people at the start, but she also managed to finish in 8:25.

That is amazing to me. She loves to run, but she has only ever run for short stretches and then stopped (just running up and down the street etc.) – I know she’s pretty fast over those short stretches but I didn’t really expect her to be able to keep it going for that long (and if she did I expected to be looking at 10 or 12 minute miles).

Maybe it won’t be that long before she’ll be able to join me on my runs.

This entry was posted in fitness, minimal running, minimalist running, New Jersey, NJ, running, Training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Busy day – Miles for Music

  1. Miss Wan says:

    Wow, your daughter is fast! Bet you’re really chuffed with that!

  2. barefoottc says:

    Wow! Congratulations to your daughter, that’s a fantastic run! It is amazing how running with others can really have a big effect on your ability to run further and faster.

  3. paigesato says:

    I was at M4M yesterday cheering on and taking photos of my team (Fleet Feet/Essex Racing). Can’t wait to read your race recap.

    • runninginnj says:

      I did a lot of the team races last year, but probably won’t this year, but maybe I’ll see you at a future one. Any thoughts on the race/organization etc.? The race is tied in with RVRR so it would be nice to know any feedback for improvement.

  4. cyn says:

    that’s amazing — good for her! cannot wait to get my daughter involved in running… if she wants of course!

Leave a Reply

