Why running is better than cycling

Okay, let me start by saying that I don’t really think running is better than cycling. It’s just because of what happened today that I am saying that.

As a result of the cancelled 5k, and as I have just signed up for the Tour de Franklin 100k ride (and if you feel like donating to this worthwhile cause: donate here), I decided I would go and ride with the group today (I haven’t been out for a ride with them for months, and missed a lot of rides last year too because of running). As it was going to be cold this morning (just below freezing) I spent some time yesterday switching pedals on my road bike so I could wear my winter shoes (those pedals are usually on my mountain bike as that’s what I usually ride in the winter when it’s cold), and pumping up the tires etc.

As they were planning on 48 miles, I decided it would be too much to ride to the start (this would have made it 60 miles in total), given my lack of cycling over the winter, so I loaded the bike in the car and drove over.

As we rolled away from the bike shop (where we start) I soon noticed that my gears were not working properly, the chain was jumping. Not enough to jump into the next gear, but enough to make riding difficult. I stopped several times to try as many different adjustments as possible but nothing was working.

So, I made my way back to the car (only about half a mile or so at that point) and headed home where I changed into running gear and made it to the start of the club run.

I got in a quick (quicker than expected) 9 mile run, went home, showered, changed, and then drove back to the shop to get them to take a look (and it was about time it was serviced anyway and even though I have the tools, I don’t have the time to spend trying to resolve a problem where I’ve pretty much already reached my knowledge limit in what I can try to fix it). When I got to the shop (Bike N gear in case you’re wondering where to trust with your bike in Central NJ) I had a catch up with Gary (the owner) as I hadn’t seen him for a while, and the guys rolled in from the ride so I chatted with them for a little while too.

So, today I think running is better than cycling because you don’t have equipment that can let you down (except your own legs).

This entry was posted in barefoot running, fitness, minimal running, minimalist running, New Jersey, NJ, running, Training and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why running is better than cycling

  1. Frank K. says:

    Yes, cycling is definitely a mix of man/woman and machine. Both need to work.

Leave a Reply

