Running on vacation

I really started running lots of races last year (not so much before that) and it seems that with that came a new desire to look for races whenever I’m on a trip. Last year I happened to be in the UK for work and pleasure for 4 weeks and managed to do a 5k ParkRun and a 10k while I was there.

This year we already had one very quick road trip and I did look but could not find a race close enough to where we were (there was a half marathon, but it was over an hour and a half away from where we were staying for a wedding, and it was on the wedding day).

Now I’m planning on another road trip and the only race I could find close to where I will be at any time during the trip is a 3k in Pittsburgh.

sweetsprint

I’ve never done a 3k before so that should be fun.

What is even better is, before I signed up I tried to do more research on it and came across their facebook page where there was a very temporary offer for $13 off for the next 2 men who signed up, and the code still worked so I got a real bargain. https://www.facebook.com/TheSweetSprint

I also have a plan, possibly for next year, to take a trip to do this marathon: http://www.marathon.is/reykjavik-marathon, and of course, to see the sights.

Who else plans to run when away on vacation? (Or is it just me?)

This entry was posted in barefoot running, fitness, minimal running, minimalist running, running, Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Running on vacation

  1. paigesato says:

    I never got to Brugges and am considering the Brussels Half on Oct. 6. And there’s a RNR 10M in Cannes, France next Feb. And a few coworkers and I were thinking it’d be great to run a race in Scandinavia on the solstice. Big dreams.

    • runninginnj says:

      All sound great – it’s got me wondering, is there a difference between planning a vacation around a particular run and planning a run when you already have a vacation planned? This next trip we’re taking is for my wife’s high school reunion so I had to look for runs that fit around the trip.

      • paigesato says:

        I saw someone define a ‘runcation’ as a vacation designed around a running event, but i think that the spontaneous runs or events that are a happy coincidence are maybe even better? less pressure and more fun.

  2. Sometimes my run is the vacation! A 3K sounds like it would be interesting. Have fun!

    • runninginnj says:

      True – a run is a vacation from everything else going on in your life usually. I started off this year with a plan to take a day off from work each month to just go and run. It hasn’t happened in the last couple of months but mainly because I’ve had to take time off for other reasons.

  3. I am always looking for races now when I travel, but unfortunately my schedule usually interferes. Case in point: a 5k in Columbus, GA, this past spring that started literally a block from my hotel, but also 15 minutes before the first session of the conference I was attending. Perhaps I just need to throw on a blazer over my singlet and hope no one notices…

Leave a Reply

